

The Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt **NHS** Orthopaedic Hospital **NHS Foundation Trust**

HISTORICAL FACTSHEET No 15

Hospital Managers and Chairmen 1921 – 2011

Name	Position	Starting date	Leaving date	Sources of Information
The Hospital moved to its present site in 1921. The NHS came into being on 5 July 1948				
Lt-Col J.H.Thresher	General Secretary	1921	1928	Annual Report 1921; 1928
John Menzies	Secretary Superintendent	1928	1956	Annual Report 1928 Orthopaedic Illustrated No 20 1981, p 7
H.G. Barrow	Secretary Superintendent	1956	1960	The Orthopod No 4 1956, p 1 Orthopaedic Illustrated No 1 1961, p 2
Philip Challinor	Secretary/ Group Secretary	1960	1967	Orthopaedic Illustrated No 1 1961, p 2, No 8 1967, p 11
Douglas Cruttenden	Group Secretary	1968	1974	Orthopaedic Illustrated No 9 1969, p 3, No 15 1975, p 12
Lt-Col R.C. Donaldson- Hudson	Chairman, Board of Management	1921	1925	Annual Report 1922; 1925
Rt Hon Lord Trevor	Chairman, Board of Management	1926	1928	Annual Report 1925; 1928
Rev Owen F. Jacson	Chairman, Board of Management	1928	1933	Annual Report 1928; 1933
Maj Gen E.R. Kenyon	Chairman, Board of Management	1933	1936	Annual Report 1933; 1936
Maj Lindsay Bury	Chairman, Board of Management	1936	1952	Annual Report 1936 The Heritage of Oswestry p 97
Maj Keith Needham	Chairman, Hospital Management Committee	1952	1964	The Orthopod No 1 December 1955, p 1
Graham Murphy	Chairman, Hospital Management Committee	1964	1974	Orthopaedic Illustrated No 26 1986, p 11
Hospital Management taken over by Salop Area Health Authority on 1 April 1974				
Jeff Silk	Sector/ Unit Administrator	1975	1985	Orthopaedic Illustrated No 15 1975, p 7, No 22 1986, p 18
Gordon Braid	Unit General Manager	1986	1992	Orthopaedic Illustrated No 22 1986, p 3

Alan Stedman	Unit General Manager/ General Manager	1992	1994	Talkback No 13 October 1992, p 1-2
<i>The Hospital became a self-governing NHS Trust on 1 April 1994</i>				
Alan Stedman	Chief Executive	1994	1996	Annual Report 1995/6
Ruth Harrison	Chief Executive	1996	2000	Annual Report 1996/7
Jo Fowler (later Cubbon)	Chief Executive	2000	2002	Trust Brief May 2000, p 1; March 2002, p 1
Jackie Daniel	Chief Executive	2002	2006	Trust Brief May 2002, p 1; Communic@te December 2006 p 3
Wendy Farrington Chadd	Chief Executive	2007		Communic@te January 2007, p 1
Richard Burbidge	Chairman, NHS Trust	1994	2000	Trust Brief December 2000, p 2
Michael Bolderston	Chairman, NHS Trust	2001	2004	Trust Brief March 2001, p 1; April 2001, p 2
David Sear	Chairman, NHS Trust	2005	2008	Joint Issues No 4 2004/5, p 3
Robert Tinston	Interim Chairman, NHS Trust	2008	2009	Communic@te July 2008, p 1
Russell Hardy	Chairman, NHS Trust	2009		Letter from Chief Executive dated 27.03.09
<i>The Hospital became an</i> <i>NHS Foundation Trust</i> <i>on 1 August 2011</i>				