Hospital achievements in spotlight on night of celebration

Release Date: 23/11/2018

Hospital achievements in spotlight on night of celebration

Staff and volunteers were celebrated in style as The Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital (RJAH) marked its third annual Celebration of Achievement Awards.

A total of 17 awards were presented to individuals and teams from the Oswestry-based hospital during the ceremony at the Lion Quays Hotel last night, which was compered by Mr Robin Banerjee, a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon at RJAH.

Winners on the night included Mr Pete Gallacher, a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon who was presented with the Patient Choice Award. More than 1,200 votes were cast for the four finalists – who also included Physiotherapist Ffion Evans, Theatre Support Worker Clare Jones and Healthcare Assistant Belinda Potts. Mr Gallacher prevailed by just 15 to take the coveted prize.

Mark Brandreth, Chief Executive of RJAH, said: “It was wonderful to see more than 250 colleagues come together to celebrate our achievements of the past year.

“I’m only sorry we cannot fit everyone into the event, and we also must thank those members of staff who were still working hard to keep the hospital running while we enjoyed our night.

“We heard some inspiring stories of individuals and teams – both clinical and non-clinical – really going the extra mile to deliver world class care.”

Other award recipients included Superintendent Radiographer Valerie Jones, who was presented with the NHS70 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Mary Powell Nurse of the Year Award – named in honour of a legendary former matron at the hospital – was presented to Lena Price, a Staff Nurse on HDU. The inaugural Sir Robert Jones Doctor of the Year Award went to Dr Prasanth Kandepalli.

Lady Trevor was recognised for 40 years of support for the hospital by winning the Volunteer of the Year Award, while charity Horatio’s Garden were presented with the Partnership Award.

Some of the loudest cheers of the night were reserved for the Porters, who won the Cornerstone Award, and the Catering Team, who won the Outstanding Team Achievement of the Year Award.

Frank Collins, Trust Chairman, said: “It was a pleasure and a privilege to spend the evening celebrating the achievements of the hard-working teams and individuals who work at RJAH.

“I often hear our Chief Executive describe RJAH as the best hospital in the NHS. On nights like this it is impossible to disagree.”

Winners in full:



Outstanding Individual Achievement of the Year Award

Professor Tracey Willis
Paediatric Neuromuscular Consultant

Cornerstone Award


Volunteer of the Year Award

Lady Trevor

NHS70 Lifetime Achievement Award

Valerie Jones
Superintendent Radiographer

STAR Awards

Sheldon Ward

Sir Robert Jones Doctor of the Year Award

Dr Prasanth Kandepalli

Richard Clarke Unsung Hero of the Year Award

Mike Nowell
IT Infrastructure and Service Team Lead

Partnership Award

Horatio’s Garden

Governor of the Year

Russell Luckock

Patient Safety Award

Judith Sansom
Divisional Governance Lead

Education and Learning Award

Diane Powell
Metabolic Technician

Living the Values Award

Olivia Evans
IT Helpdesk Engineer

Quality Improvement of the Year Award

Linda Head
Moving and Handling Co-ordinator

Chief Executive’s Award for Inspirational Leadership

Dr Sophie Shapter
Consultant Anaesthetist

Mary Powell Nurse of the Year

Lena Price
Staff Nurse, HDU

Outstanding Team Achievement of the Year

Catering Department

Patient Choice Award

Mr Pete Gallacher
Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon



Back to News