Awards 2017

The Celebration of Achievement Awards 2017 took place at the  Lion Quays Hotel in Oswestry on Thursday 23 November and was compered by RJAH consultant surgeon Mr Robin Banerjee..

See below for pictures and details of all the winners:

Outstanding Individual Achievement of the Year

Emily Rhodes (Healthcare Assistant, Theatres)

Emily's nomination highlighted her as an exceptional hard worker who has achieved so much already at such a young age and is very popular within the department. She was praised as a hard worker who shows commitment, and also smiles constantly. She is, writes her nominator, a STAR.


Outstanding Team Achievement of the Year

Children's Unit (Alice Ward and Children's Outpatients)

The nomination for this team highlighted the exceptional teamwork across the entire multi-disciplinary team of nurses, doctors, physios, the play team and teachers. Their patients very often transition into adult services so the experience they receive from the children’s unit often shapes their future pathway through healthcare. 

The Chief Executive’s Award for Inspirational Leadership

Professor James Richardson

Professor Richardson has long driven research and innovation at RJAH, and this award recognised the recent decision by NICE to approve a procedure called ACI for use at RJAH after 20 years of trials at RJAH and other sites. The Professor has been at the forefront of this work throughout.


Living the Values Award

Shirley Till (Receptionist, ORLAU)

Shirley is, according to her nomination, someone who cares almost too much. She is described as a magnet for people and someone who has a listening ear for everyone’s problems and wears her heart on her sleeve. She can coax a smile out of the shyest of children or the crabbiest of adults. 

Richard Clarke Unsung Hero Award

Nick Richardson (Senior Technician, TSSU)

Nick was nominated for this award in recognition of his bravery in speaking up to identify poor practice, and his commitment to finding realistic solutions. Working in difficult, extremely time pressured conditions, Nick and the TSSU team have raised the standards to allow the Trust to achieve the turnover required for increased activity. 


Cornerstone Award

The IT Team

The nomination for the IT Team notes that they team continuously work covertly on the front line, stablishing, monitoring and maintaining the information technology systems and services across the Trust. A good example of this is they cyber-attack that made headlines around the world in May this year.

Partnership Award

League of Friends

This organisation provide services across the hospital – including a shop, coffee shop, trolley service to wards and a Disabled Swimming Club. They are extraordinary fundraisers, having contributed more than £4 million to the hospital over the last half century. That money has gone to providing amenities and medical equipment for the benefit of our patients.


Governor of the Year Award

Linda Ward

Linda has really thrown herself into the role of governor, and her passion for this hospital and our patients really shines through. She has enthusiastically supported our regular Members’ Surgeries, and is also active on the Patient Panel. She has been a significant contributor to the Sit and See scheme. She has represented RJAH at numerous seminars.

Patient Safety Award

Maryse Mackenzie (Medicines Safety Officer)

The nomination for Maryse singles out the many patient safety related projects she has implemented successfully, including the medicines safety thermometer, the introduction of new controlled drug books and audits throughout the hospital, and medicines safety training. The nomination states that Maryse always goes the extra mile, puts patient safety first and really ‘cares’.


Quality Improvement Award

The Orthotics Team

2016/17 was an exceptionally tough year with 3 maternity leaves within a team of 9 Orthotists. During this time the whole team showed exceptional commitment to their work, frequently working additional hours. Over the last 12 months they have introduced telephone review appointments as well as the capturing of clinical outcomes, which is new in the field of Orthotics. 

Commitment to Learning Award

Emma Bonnick (Orthotist)

Emma was nominated in recognition of the exceptional commitment to learning and development she has shown in undertaking the task – alongside two colleagues from other Trusts – of putting together National Guidelines for Orthotic Management of Patients with Spinal Injuries. Her work is making current practices better for patients. 


Apprentice of the Year

Sophie Donnelly (Hand and Upper Limb Unit Assistant)

Sophie’s nomination describes her as a conscientious young lady who is willing to learn and takes pride in producing work of a high standard. She has enrolled in a college course, in her own time and at her own expense, to develop her skills and improve her career prospects. She has forged strong working relationships with clinical and clerical colleagues. 

STAR Award

Oswald Ward

Oswald Ward achieved Three Stars in the Trust's Sustaining Quality Through Assessment & Review (STAR) process - the highest available to a new Ward. The STAR assessment is a Trust-wide uniform approach in monitoring quality standards of patient care and focusses on a true multi-disciplinary approach. 


Volunteer of the Year Award

Pat Evans

Pat has been working in our League of Friends Shop for the last two years, giving up their time from 9am to 5pm all through the week, as well as occasionally filling in at the Coffee Shop. This person is a conscientious and ultra-reliable volunteer, very well-liked by staff, patients and other volunteers.

Patient Choice Award

Pip Page-Davies (Staff Nurse, Oswald Ward)

Pip was nominated for this award by patient Bethany Eason. Bethany wrote: "The trauma of what happened that particular night (when she was admitted to the hospital) will forever stay with me however the help and support I received throughout the weeks I stayed there will never be forgotten and I am forever in debt to Pip."


Mary Powell Nurse of the Year Award

Nicki Williams (Acute Pain Nurse)

The nominations for Nicki – and there were two of them – recognise her as someone always willing to go the extra mile for both staff and patients, whether it is in her role of Acute Pain Nurse or ‘just by being a nurse’. One comment stands out: She delivers gold standard care, and is the ultimate nurse that many aspire to be.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr Rob Alcock (Consultant Anaesthetist)

Dr Alcock was nominated for his contribution as Medical Appraisal Lead for the Trust, a role he fulfilled for many years up until April of this year. He worked closely with colleagues to provide them with support and guidance, ensuring the quality of medical appraisals improved and that the process was meaningful and had an impact on the individual and their practice.