Awards 2016

The Celebration of Achievement Awards 2016 took place at the  Lion Quays Hotel in Oswestry on Thursday 24 November and was compered by TV presenter Dr Ravi Jayaram.

See below for pictures and details of all the winners:

Outstanding Individual Achievement of the Year

Allen Edwards (Training Advisor)

Allen was nominated in recognition of his years of tireless work to grow what was once a small apprenticeship scheme into one which is now admired across the region and has won awards. Many of the apprentices that Allen has been instrumental in bringing to the Trust have gone on to gain qualifications and permanent jobs. 


Outstanding Team Achievement of the Year

Healthcare Records Library Scanning Team

The nomination for this team notes how they go the extra mile to assist teams across the Trust, and how they have maintained high standards in the last 12 months during the introduction of the Paperlite Project – a project that has involved 20 million pages across 80,000 case notes. 

The Chief Executive’s Award for Inspirational Leadership

Mr Andrew Roberts

Mr Roberts has done good work through his role as Director of Clinical Information and Information Technology. He has driven new developments in the Gait Lab (ORLAU) and the move to TORCH.He was Medical Director of the Trust from 2003 to 2005 and remains one of our most influential and respected consultants.


Living the Values Award

Gemma Newson (Therapy Assistant)

Gemma has recently returned from maternity leave, and her nomination noted that she was much missed during her time away from the Trust. She is appreciated by patients and colleagues for her positive, caring attitude. She has also been a tireless fundraiser in her own time, supporting the Zackery Dell Foundation in memory of her own son. 

Unsung Hero Award

Helen Cooper (Ludlow Ward Manager)

Helen was nominated for this award by her team on Ludlow Ward, who were unanimous in their support for putting her name forward. She has been Ward Manager of Ludlow Ward for 17 years and is praised for the way she has been prepared to go the extra mile for patients and staff throughout that time. 


Cornerstone Award

The Finance Team

The Finance Team faced exceptional and unprecedented pressures during 2015/16, as well as an unfilled post and maternity leave absence to specialist senior posts. Despite this cocktail of demands and pressures though, the dedication of the depleted team drove them on and they were able to achieve an excellent set of results. 

Partnership Award

Dr Shu Ho

Dr Ho exemplifies our values and has done a fantastic job since being appointed as Clinical Director for the Medicine and Rehabilitation Division. As a clinical leader he is acting as advocate for hard-pressed services in order to secure much needed resources and advising Directors of clinical priorities. 


Governor of the Year Award

Jan Gereasley (Lead Governor)

Jan has provided exemplary leadership during what has been a challenging period for the Trust. She is someone who cares deeply about RJAH, and who has a long affiliation with the Trust and a real passion for the place. Jan has taken on a huge level of responsibility, in what is a completely voluntary role – she gets no remuneration for it.

Patient Safety Award

Pre-operative Assessment Team

The team has successfully introduced the Edmonton Frailty Assessment into the pre-surgical assessment process – which involves combined multi-disciplinary team working and improved communication across Surgery and Medicine. This is a commitment from the team in Pre-op to ensure that planned elective surgery is as harm-free and safe as possible. 


Quality Improvement Award

Metabolic/Rheumatology Infusion Service

The team have done, and continue to do, much work to reduce their DNA rate – that’s the number of patients who do not attend appointments. Ahead of this work, that rate for the service stood at 6% but they are well on their way to getting it down to their target of 0! 


Commitment to Learning Award – winner

Paris Bartley (Alice Ward Healthcare Assistant)

Paris’s nomination recognises her determination and tenacity. She was working towards an NVQ in Health and Social Care, but ran into difficulties with the learning provider. She showed a terrific attitude to overcome the challenge – eventually completing her NVQ earlier this year. She is now a valued and respected member of the Alice Ward team. 


Commitment to Learning Award – Highly Commended

Shirley Oakley (Catering Assistant)

Shirley has completed an NVQ in Storage and Warehousing, and is now working towards another NVQ in Business and Administration. In her own time she has also been attending Oswestry Library to undertake some extra computer training. 


Apprentice of the Year Award

Kristine Griffiths (Estates Apprentice)

Kristine’s nomination highlighted her efficient, professional and pleasant manner. She is highlighted as someone not afraid to take the initiative and who always puts patient welfare at the heart of her work. 



STAR Award

Ludlow Ward

Ludlow Ward became the first ward to achieve Five Stars in the Trust's Sustaining Quality Through Assessment & Review (STAR) process. The STAR assessment is a Trust-wide uniform approach in monitoring quality standards of patient care and focusses on a true multi-disciplinary approach. 

Volunteer of the Year Award

Gill Cripps

Gill has given almost 25 years of service to the Trust, having been involved with our Disabled Swimming Club since it was first set up in October 1992. She has spent the last 10 of those years as its chairman, and taking lead responsibility for its smooth running. The drive and energy she shows in getting the best for club members is outstanding.


Patient Choice Award

Kate Betts (Physiotherapy Technical Instructor)

Kate was nominated for this award by a former patient, Meira Lloyd Owen, who said: "It's staff like Kate that help not only make RJAH the best possible Spinal Unit, but also makes the NHS great. If we had more like her, then the NHS would be back to it's shining glory."


Mary Powell Nurse of the Year Award

Mary Offland (Infection Control Nurse)

Mary commends her excellence in patient care and the work she does with ward teams to achieve amazing outcomes in pressure sore management. She goes above and beyond, visiting patients on the ward at times to fit in with rehab and treatments and discusses treatment plans with nursing homes and district nurses prior to patients discharge. 


Lifetime Achievement Award

Julie Horton (Pharmacy Technician)

Julie has worked in the pharmacy department at RJAH for more than 30 years – supporting the old Ercall Ward, Sheldon Ward, MCSI and Ludlow Ward during that time – and is described as an inspiration to the whole team. She has also been a valuable source of wisdom, support and guidance for students and new staff.